Creating a truss system underneath a curved surface (roof)

I am a civil engineering student and currently trying to create a parametric model for a truss system for my intended curved roof structure. However, I could not figure out how to make the truss to follow the shape of the roof. I am new to Grasshopper, and hopefully, someone could help me to solve this problem. The grasshopper script and the roof model in Rhino are attached. Thank you!
Arena Truss.gh (16.1 KB)

A couple of notes:

1. Even if you attempt to cover 100% the arena you sould deploy trusses in a “radial” so to speak way. Cover the hole with a net of cables instead of attempting to bridge big spans with metal LBS. Avoid at any cost retractable solutions since these require a team of pros in 3 different engineering disciplines (and no R/GH). As we do in classic membranes rather try a saddle type of topology (unless you want a flatish roof for some reason).
  2. It’s advisable to mastermind trusses with “thickness” (say a MERO KK system) otherwise you should use elephant sized beams/connections etc etc. Use cables as well: they can deal with forces in a rather elegant AND cheap way (but require masts). This means that - in a way - every contemporary stadium roof is a tensegrity system. Connect trusses with some sort of inner ring: this stabilizes the LBS with the most rational way (and allows access to lighs, sound, screens etc)
  3. It’s advisable to mastermind the trusses and the whole LBS approach AFTER fixing the exact type of roof (i.e. acrylic panels? opaque ones? a combo? (see London Olympic stadium), tensile membranes? etc etc).
  4. It’s rather impossible to outline any solution that has some sort of relation with real-life (even within an Academic perspective) without extensive use of code.

Here’s 3 indicative snapshots on that matter (obviously there’s 1Z++ other solutions possible but the principles are rather clear).

1 Like