Create small holes on a curved surface

Hello all,

I have been trying to develop a mold tool for a manufacturing process. The tool needs to have 10’s of thousands of tiny holes on the surface around 0.3 mm diameter. Traditional CAD software’s are unable to handle this and the system usually crashes.

I need to to add the holes to the curved surfaces in a pattern.

Would like to know what is the best way to do it as I am completely new to rhino.

Not knowing anything about your hole pattern:

First draw your circle ( I assume your hole is a circle) in a parallel viewport such as front view and align it to where you want to place the hole. make sure the curve is closed. Make sure UseApparentIntersections= Yes

From here you can run the _Trim command and cut away the inside of the hole

In some cases it mIght be advantageous to run the _Project command before running _Trim

Use the _Divide command and divide one of your edges by the number of time you want to copy the hole.

From here try to use the _MoveHole command to copy your hole.

Other potentially helpful commands:

http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/5/help/en-us/seealso/sak_holes.htm

Another option if your pattern can afford to be distorted a bit would be to use the _Squish and _SquishBack commands.

http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/6mac/help/en-us/commands/squish.htm

It seems that another of Hussain’s major concerns is whether Rhino can even handle “tens of thousands” of hole trims. As someone who has never had to do anything like he proposes but is curious nontheless, I’d be interested too.

Here is 10K holes in a hemisphere (not organized well, but they are there). Splitting the hemisphere surface with the holes took a little while - maybe a minute or two here on this old machine.

I have not tried to create a wall thickness though.
Edit, I used OffsetSrf>Solid and it actually worked OK, I let it run in the background, so I have no idea how long it took. A few mesh or rendering artifacts though…

1 Like