Create and update toolbar buttons through RhinoPython or Macro

Hi everyone,

I’ve been developing a bunch of python scripts for my research project. Since I am constantly adding/renaming scripts from the list, I used a git folder to sync the project with my fellows. The folder path is then added to the python search path. I also created a startup script to go through the list every time and let the user select which tool (ie. script) to run, so that they don’t need to reinstall the toolbox frequently.

And now, we’ve reached a point that we have quite a long list to use. Even though we’ve categorized them, it still takes long to find each one. Therefore, we want to use a python script to automatically create icons/buttons to a toolbar, so that the toolbar can get updates as we removing or adding new scripts to the folder.

I am not software developer by trade and I don’t want to rewrite all the scripts in other languages. I am also aware of the Rhino plugin with python, but it simply doesn’t fit our workflow. It seems that there is not much I can do with Rhino.UI.Toolbar. Any suggestion to the workflow or sample codes are greatly appreciated!

Best regards,
Vincent

P.S: I am thinking about writing the .rui file directly. The .rui is an xml file at its core. Is there any documentation I can refer to? Many thanks!

Maybe a searchable eto form would help you achieve your goal?

Have a look at this topic:

@lando.schumpich Awesome! Great to see that someone had the same idea. Will definitely implement it for our project. But a toolbar is still desired, since there are commands we use quite frequently and a toolbar will save many clicks. :grinning:

I don’t think the tools for creating toolbar buttons and adding them to an existing toolbar are currently exposed anywhere accessible like RhinoCommon.