Crash due to infinite loop in GHpython

Hi,

Please excuse me if this is not the correct topic for this section.

When during trial & error process in grasshopper with ghpython component, user creates an infinite loop by accident, grasshopper, respectively rhino crash.

This leads to loss of unsaved stuff, that even the recovered file is not saving. Not to mention it ruins the experience and one starts to wonder how reliable GH is for prototyping.

There should probably be an exception displayed that there is an infinite loop instead of trying to run it and end up crashing Rhino.

The “while loop” in particular, every time I try to use it I crash Rhino. This restricts me to look for alternative methods like “for i in range(a,b)” but this doesn’t work in all cases.

I know a little programming different languages different syntax in my head but I’m not a programmer and it happens frequently to just try different stuff with python and see what works. Leading to a lot of errors and unintentional loops.

Best Regards

I don’t know about Python, but I can assume it have statements to handle exceptions. Look for “Python infinite loop break” or “python try catch”. The machines are stupid, you have to specify everything.
And by the way, I developed an naive plugin to automatically save the new documents (making the auto save always active).

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Dani,

I’ll definitely try your tool.

I agree machines are stupid but trial&error is part of the process of innovation and prototyping and such crashes should not happen.

Last time I used while loop I also used a break but nevertheless rhino crashed. If I wanted to go deeper in programming I wouldn’t have been using grasshopper now, woudln’t I? :slight_smile:

Are you sure it’s a GH problem and not a bad user implementation?