Control points' math relation of G2 continuity

Hi guys,
Just share some information. I studied control points’ math relation of G2 continuity and find out the following function relation.

Assume
a=d1/d2, b=h1/h2,
when the two curves’ relation is G2, and all the control points’ weight is 1.0,
b=a²

Maybe we barely use G2 relation in grasshopper, but I think it will do some use under some circumstances.

Well, it only works when the two curves are in the same degree.

4 Likes

I’m not sure if this correct for any case. I solved it by ratio equation when moving in h1 direction. In the following thread I posted a component:

1 Like

There is also a goal for this in Kangaroo-
G2_curves_kangaroo.gh (16.2 KB) g2gif
Can be handy if you want 2 separate curves to meet G2, yet control an interpolating point where they meet. It’s on my long term to-do list to improve the interface for this, and maybe extend to other conditions for degree/weights/knot-vector.

6 Likes

I just want to point out that my component works for any parameter not just the endpoints :smirk:

2 Likes

Not sure I follow - in the above also any of the control points of either curve (not just end points) can be can be set as either driver or driven

Actually, a few days ago I searched in this forum and found your component :rofl:. It’s really awsome.
But I can’t see the component’s logic and I really want to know it, so I studied just for interest and found the basic function. If someone wants to use it, they can make their own logic according to their need.

Since I’m only evaluating the tangent and curvature at a parameter, I can match at any point of a curve. It is not directly based on the controlpoints.
Furthermore the main difference between both components is, that my reference curve is not changing its cvs for matching. It just matches a to b at any given point, but doesn’t change b actually.

@523484432