Beginner dev question c# GetObject

Dear Rhino developers. I am trying to build my first plugin in C# with Visual Studio, on which basically I plan to learn this language and build some usefull tool for me and my team. I am noob here and I am stuck at beginning…

I do not know how to pass results of selection from command class to plugin class. Here is my command code (mostly from template).

public class mytestCommand : Command
{
    public mytestCommand()
    {
        Instance = this;
    }

public static mytestCommand Instance
    {
        get; private set;
    }

public override string EnglishName
    {
        get { return "mytestCommand"; }
    }

protected override Result RunCommand(RhinoDoc doc, RunMode mode)
    {
        var go = new GetObject();
        go.SetCommandPrompt("Select open curves in order");
        go.GeometryAttributeFilter = GeometryAttributeFilter.OpenCurve;
        go.DisablePreSelect();
        go.OneByOnePostSelect = true;
        go.SubObjectSelect = false;
        go.GetMultiple(2, 0);

if (go.CommandResult() != Result.Success)
        {
            return go.CommandResult();
        }

public List<Curve> mycurves = go.Objects().Select(obj => obj.Curve()).ToList(); 
       //I get here "The name 'go' does not exist in the current context"

return Result.Success;
    }
}

I was thinking that word public before curve list variable will allow for reference in plugin class, but I cannot get data from get object operation. I was thinking that later in my plugin class I could use for reference something like:

mytestCommand.mycurves    

Where is my stupidity here?

Inside a function you cannot declare scope visibility like that. You should create your declare your mycurves at the class level. Then you assign to it in your RunCommand implementation.

See field documentation. Review this documentation on classes and structs.

1 Like

Thank you. Works like a charm.