Avoid overlapping of squares within a boundary

I’m currently trying to complete an assignment that I don’t quite understand, because I’m new to Grasshopper and Galapagos. The assignment requires 9 squares that are spread out within another big square that acts as a boundary not to be crossed. In short, these are the requirements:

• squares should stay within boundary square
  • squares need to be spread out within the boundary
  • squares shouldn’t overlap
  • sqaures should have maximum distance between each other
  • use Galapagos for this task

Can someone help solve this?

Don’t mind the notes on the canvas. They are for my understanding :sweat_smile:

Space assignment.gh (53.3 KB)

Since it’s homework I probably shouldn’t be doing it for you, but the problem to be solved in any Galapagos project is the creation of the fitness function. You somehow need to encode any state your model might be in into a single number; the fitness value. Then, once that function exists, Galapagos can go and twiddle with sliders for a bit to see if it can maximise this fitness number.

There are three important rules to keep in mind when designing this fitness function:

1. Ideally every state should result in a fitness. If certain states yield a null value or a NaN value, Galapagos will definitely have a much harder time figuring stuff out. Usually when a fitness function fails to do this we call it “overconstrained”.
  2. Ideally a small change in any input slider results in a small change in the fitness value. If that’s not the case then there will be sudden jumps in the fitness space. Galapagos can handle this, but the more discontinuities like this, the harder it is to solve.
  3. Ideally small changes to any input slider yield a difference in fitness. If neighbouring states are equally fit then Galapagos doesn’t know in which direction to look for even better states. Fitness functions which contain plateaus like this are called “underconstrained”.