Automatticaly selecting curves of the opening in geometry

For my graduation project, I am focusing on the automation of daylight factor calculations using a Revit model. In this process, only the walls and floors from Revit are imported. However, for the calculations, it is necessary to define the curves present on the interior of the openings. The goal is to select these curves automatically, eliminating the need for manual selection. How can I select the inner curves (multiple) of the openings automatically?

?

Hi,

I have some experience with this workflow and I usually use Rhino.Inside.Revit to do it, which I assume that you can use as you have access to Rhino and Revit, right? :sweat_smile:.

I select all the windows, make a bounding box for each of them and then select the two largest faces. Then I compare the distance of each of those face to the centroid of the union box of the complete geometry of the building. The shortest distance of each window corresponds to the interior face of the windows that you are looking for.

In this case I am selecting the complete the windows in each individual union box: frame and glass (because for energy analysis you need everything). If you just want to the glass (because this is daylight), you will need to look for the corresponding subcategory with Rhino.Inside.Revit.

Interior curves of windows.gh (13.4 KB)

I know you asked the question Grasshopper Developer category, so if you open the file, do it from Rhino.Inside.Revit as the Rhino.Inside components will not be active from regular Grasshopper opened with Rhino (probably you know this, but just in case :sweat_smile:)

2 Likes

Thanks for your help, Fernando.
I’ve moved this thread to the more appropriate category.
-wim

1 Like

I tested your script on my building, and it appears to be functioning correctly. I am now in the process of integrating this component into the rest of my script. I will keep you informed about its success.