Are joints in figures possible in Rhino for Mac

Hi I was wondering if it is possible to create a figure whereby you can make the joints moveable i.e. if I had a figure in a standing position and then wanted to make that figure sit, how would I do this in Rhino?

I have used Cheetah in the past and this was a straight forward operation, however, I am self taught and do not know all the correct terminology. I am willing to wrangle through the process if anyone can give me a hint as to where I would start.

Cheers

Paul

This probably depends on your expectation of “possible”.

Cheetah3D seems built to be primarily an ANIMATION program. As in other animation programs like Maya, modo, Lightwave, Messiah, etc one of its included components let you rig your model with imaginary bones – often with defined constraints on how far something can twist or bend. The model deforms its mesh in those areas. The end-product to most animation programs are media for visual consumption.

In another part of the spectrum are solid parametric modelers like Autodesk Inventor or SolidWorks. These treat your model as if it were solid in the virtual world. Objects collide with one another and can be defined by constraints but not the type of imaginary bones you get in an animation program. This allows engineers to create hinges and gears and levers that operate and interact in the software like it would in real life. There would be an opportunity here to create a character that has the old-school articulated joints like an old GI Joe doll – This is because the end-product to most solid modelers are object files intended for real-world manufacturing.