Approximating to a grid

Hi, this is my fist post here, and I’m a newcomer to rhino too.

I hope someone can help me out. I’ve got a model of some terrain made up of various surfaces and I want to use this to populate a list representing an x,y grid with height values, I’m using python to script this.

As I see it, the way to achieve this would be to set up a couple of a nested for loops to draw out a regular field of vertical lines and record the intersection point of each line.

Does this seem like a sensible way to do things? If so, what function do I need to use to check the intersection?

I hope I’ve made sense, let me know if you need me to go into any more details. Thanks.

Hi Andrew,

Could you attach that terrain model please?
Thank you.

I might just create a grid of points and project those to the surface(s) using ProjectPointToSurface or ProjectPointToMesh if it’s meshes.

–Mitch

Here’s the model - contors.3dm (12.0 MB).

I’m studying architecture and this was put together by one of my fellow students who is far more proficient with rhino than I am. It’s not really mine to share, but I can’t see that posting it here will cause any problems. Thanks.

That seems rather simpler than what I was proposing. I’ll give it a go and see what happens. Cheers.

Here is a simple example with Mitch’s method - by using ProjectPointToSurface function. Please download both .3dm and .py files. Make sure your “pedestal” Layer is turned off before running the script, otherwise you will have labels on the bottom of your pedestal too.
Two additional layers gets created, one for the projected points, one for the labels.
To run the .py file select: Tools -> PythonScript -> Run

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
'''populate your surfaces, polysurfaces and extrusions with projected regular grid of points, and assign it's elevation as annotation text dot'''

def surfacePointHeight(ptsInU,ptsInV):
    if ptsInU and ptsInV:
        # selecting, creating a top surface of a boundingbox