Yak Closed Beta

Hey @yak_testers!

It’s finally time to get some feedback on this project that I have been incubating (between distractions) for the last two years… For starters I’ve invited a few developers/users who I feel could really get their teeth into this.

I’ve pushed some preliminary documentation to http://developer.rhino3d.com/wip/guides/yak. Please have a read and a play and let me know your thoughts! I’m here to answer any questions if anything doesn’t make sense. :slight_smile:

Some things you can try…

Yak 0.2 is focused on Grasshopper plug-in packages and the “package restore” functionality in Grasshopper. The next release will focus more on packaging Rhino (.rhp) plug-ins – it works but it needs some attention.

One last note… Yak is designed to be cross-platform, but right now only the hooks into Rhino WIP for Windows are implemented.

Thank you,

Will

6 Likes
1 Like

For those who were confused like me - the Yak CLI tool is included in the latest Rhino WIP and can be found here: C:\Program Files\Rhino WIP\System :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yak CLI isn’t reading any of the info from my plug-in - though it implements a GH_AssemblyInfo class. tells me Something went wrong, couldn't get info from .gha file

the GHA is attached - should I have set something up differently? MetaHopper.gha (257.5 KB)

@andheum Thanks for the first bug report! I was able to reproduce this. I’ll take a closer look…

@andheum Please replace Yak.exe and Yak.dll with these files and try again… Yak-0.2.1-fix.zip (26.5 KB)

I pushed a package called imaging-library (version 1.0.0).

I also successfully managed to get it to download and install by removing my local build and opening the attached file.

gditest.gh (29.4 KB)

Does it work for everyone else too?

3 Likes

works over here!

Looks like it does:

2017-08-09 10_56_10-Grasshopper - No document…

The “Draw Image” component throws an error though:

2017-08-09 10_59_08-Rhinoceros WIP