Yak Closed Beta

yak

(Will Pearson) #1

Hey @yak_testers!

It’s finally time to get some feedback on this project that I have been incubating (between distractions) for the last two years… For starters I’ve invited a few developers/users who I feel could really get their teeth into this.

I’ve pushed some preliminary documentation to http://developer.rhino3d.com/wip/guides/yak. Please have a read and a play and let me know your thoughts! I’m here to answer any questions if anything doesn’t make sense. :slight_smile:

Some things you can try…

Yak 0.2 is focused on Grasshopper plug-in packages and the “package restore” functionality in Grasshopper. The next release will focus more on packaging Rhino (.rhp) plug-ins – it works but it needs some attention.

One last note… Yak is designed to be cross-platform, but right now only the hooks into Rhino WIP for Windows are implemented.

Thank you,

Will

(David Rutten) #2

(Andrew Heumann) #3

For those who were confused like me - the Yak CLI tool is included in the latest Rhino WIP and can be found here: C:\Program Files\Rhino WIP\System :slight_smile:

(Andrew Heumann) #4

Yak CLI isn’t reading any of the info from my plug-in - though it implements a GH_AssemblyInfo class. tells me Something went wrong, couldn't get info from .gha file

the GHA is attached - should I have set something up differently? MetaHopper.gha (257.5 KB)

(Will Pearson) #5

@andheum Thanks for the first bug report! I was able to reproduce this. I’ll take a closer look…

(Will Pearson) #6

@andheum Please replace Yak.exe and Yak.dll with these files and try again… Yak-0.2.1-fix.zip (26.5 KB)

(David Rutten) #7

I pushed a package called imaging-library (version 1.0.0).

I also successfully managed to get it to download and install by removing my local build and opening the attached file.

gditest.gh (29.4 KB)

Does it work for everyone else too?

(Luis Fraguada) #8

works over here!

Looks like it does: