Weave lists of pts together

I am new to python (sort of), anyway I am not sure why this is not working. Should be simple to weave two lists together with a boolean pattern of true false.

I don’t really understand how to flatten the two lists after using python’s built in ‘zip’ function.

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs

list1 = []
list2 = []
list3 = []

for x in range (0,20,2):
    y = 0
    z = 0
    ptlist1 = rs.AddPoint(x,y,z)
    list1.append(ptlist1)

for x2 in range (0,20,3):
        y = 0
        z = 0
        ptlist2 = rs.AddPoint(x2,y,z)
        ptlist2move = rs.MoveObjects(ptlist2, (0,5,0))
#        rs.DeleteObjects(ptlist2)
        list2.append(ptlist2move)

def weaveLists():
    zip(list1, list2)
    flattenList = [item for sublist in zip(list1, list2) for item in sublist] #this line confuses me
    list3.append(flattenList)
    return rs.AddPolyline(list3)

# attempting to weave lists together with a boolean pattern like the 'weave' pattern in 
# grasshopper.

It seems to work here in my example below (I didn’t test your script yet).
The line you don’t understand is a list comprehension, it’s just a shorthand for some longer code.

result=[item for sublist in mainlist for item in sublist]

#is the same as

result=[]
for sublist in mainlist:
    for item in sublist:
        result.append(item)

I used the following example to test the method:

list0=["A","B","C","D","E"]
list1=["AA","BB","CC","DD","EE"]
list2=["AAA","BBB","CCC","DDD","EEE"]

zipped=zip(list0,list1,list2)
result0=[item for sublist in zipped for item in sublist]

result1=[]
for sublist in zipped:
    for item in sublist:
        result1.append(item)
print result0
print result1

In looking at your example, I think you also want to change this line:

list3.append(flattenList)
to this
list3.extend(flattenList)