Volume Centroid is outside of brep (BUG!)

The underwater shape of two hulls has been split into sections with each one capped to make closed breps. The Volume Centroid (‘C’ output) for the small sections at both ends of one of the hulls (not both!) is outside the brep. This kind of anomaly can consume hours of time.

volume_centroid_2020Mar21a.gh (665.7 KB)

The second Brep param shows the full context.

Shrinking brep faces could be a workaround; you can use shrinkTrimmedSurface component from pufferfish or a simple script like this:

brep.Faces.ShrinkFaces();
A = brep;

Volume Centroid.gh (8.4 KB)

And what does ‘brep.Faces.ShrinkFaces()’ actually do? Never mind, I don’t want to know. I don’t want to be bothered with esoteric reasons for why Rhino/Grasshopper fails. It’s a broken record that has shattered a lifelong trust in software (I’m a programmer). I want it to work the way it’s supposed to work and not routinely spend hours identifying issues like this and hours more coping with them using kludgy work-arounds. Centroid location aside, the value of the volume is important to me.

Which one is correct?

volume_centroid_2020Mar21a3

The difference between the centroid locations is measurable, though usually not so extreme as these end sections on one hull. Which values am I supposed to trust? Thank you though, I can use your centroids for this purpose and the volume values from the unshrunken breps.

volume_centroid_2020Mar21b
volume_centroid_2020Mar21b.gh (658.7 KB)

@Joseph_Oster This may be related to the normal directions of one or more faces of the volume. For the Rhino VolumeCentroid command the normals all need to face outward. If one faces inward the result can have the calculated centroid outside of the volume. If surfaces are joined into a “solid” the normals should be automatically flipped to point outwards.

FWIW Rhino seems to follow what the GH volume component generates without shrinking trimmed surfaces.