Using a Kangaroo Collision Simulation

Hello everyone,

I have a 3D Voronoi structure in Grasshopper that I’m looking to run a collision simulation on using Kangaroo, in order to space out the individual Voronoi cells more evenly but not change the overall shape of the object.

I think the best way to tackle this is to drop the object to C-plane using a gravity-like simulation, with restrictions set to the object. However, I’m new to Kangaroo so am struggling as I haven’t been able to find a tutorial or another similar forum.

1 Like

Hi Hamish,
Do you mean you are using the Voronoi3d component on a collection of points filling some volume?
or you have a distribution of points on some curved surface?
Either way, I don’t see why it would be necessary to drop anything to the C-plane - you can use the SphereCollide component to distribute the points, while either keeping them inside a volume with SolidPtCollide, or on a Surface with OnMesh.

Hi Daniel,

I appreciate the quick reply, yes that’s exactly what I mean; using the Voronoi 3d component to join points within a volume.

Before I use it to create a mesh, I want to evenly spread out the points within the volume so the final outcome will be cleaner. Here’s what I have so far using SphereCollide and SolidPtCollide, seems to be getting there but still not right. You don’t happen to have any examples of it working do you?

Check out this thread

Here’s a simple definition
image distribute_pts_in_cube.gh (11.0 KB)
What is it that you are unhappy with in the result you are getting so far?

Why are you using the bouncy solver rather than the regular one as in the file I posted above?

In that image at least, the solver is not running at all, and it is only because you have both the original and what would be the relaxed points (if it were running) connected to the Voronoi component that you are getting a result. You shouldn’t have that connection between Pop3d and Voronoi3d.