Trying to create a rectangle at a given point.. failing hard at it

Hey guys.
New to python and rhino, but not new to programming.
I have been programming in C# in unity3D for the past 4 years now as a hobby. Got a job where they use rhino and started right away making scripts to save time lol.

So… I am making a form that pops up. The user enters all the data, and then it changes all the text fields in the template. Works pretty darn good and the time that saves is awesome!

But I am having a problem with addRectangle. Again, I am new to python and rhinoscript so it’s throwing me off.

Here is how I am currently trying to do it.

texturePOB = rs.ObjectsByName("BOMTexture P1")
getTexturePoint = rs.ObjectType(texturePOB)
textureP1 = rs.PointCoordinates(getTexturePoint)
if textureP1: rs.AddRectangle( textureP1 , 5.0, 15.0 )

Now I understand the error that it’s throwing me, but I just don’t know enough of rhinoscirpt to find what I am looking for. In unity I would save the Vector3 of the transform of the object… found transform… I even found Vector3… but nothing that helps me in this program lol.

Any help would be very appreciated :slightly_smiling:

@AlanGreyjoy,

can you try to explain what are you´re planning to do ? Some notes on the snippet of code posted above:

texturePOB = rs.ObjectsByName("BOMTexture P1")

the rs.ObjectsByName method returns a list of object ids or None if no object with this name has been found. So you cannot pass the result in the next line:

getTexturePoint = rs.ObjectType(texturePOB)

since rs.ObjectType is expecting a single object id not a list of ids which is returned even when a single object has been found with that name. The rs.ObjectType method returns an integer which stands for one of the object types listed. You cannot use this integer in the next line:

textureP1 = rs.PointCoordinates(getTexturePoint)