Traveling Salesman Problem - Nearest Neighbor Heuristic

Hi,

there is a set of points (max. 100 pts), sorted in x direction. From the sorted set I would like to start the distance measurement with Item Index 0 along x axis. The set of points should be entirely connected and always by the nearest neighbor (closest point) started by Item Index 0. This repetitive calculation should be started by the result (closest point) of the previous calculation. It is not clear to me how to define this iteration and code with grasshopper components.

I searched about this topic and know that it is a asymmetric system type of the Traveling Salesman Problem. Unfortunately I am not that experienced with this kind of mathematical problems and python coding for finding solutions.

Thanks a lot for your help and time!

Forum1.gh (7.0 KB)

Have a try NeoArchaic’s Sequential Closest Poins.

Forum1_re.gh (13.9 KB)
2 Likes

Translate this to P (NOT a traveling salesman solution) if you are after an iterative proximity.

1 Like

Hi @STUDENT_F,

Here’s a Python recipe for sequential sorting, inspired by @HS_Kim’s and @PeterFotiadis’ great replies.

It’s unnecessary to presort the points, because a start point is defined and the script automatically evaluates its next closest point. This means that the presorting isn’t taken into account.

import Rhino.Geometry as rg

def sort_sequentially_rec(pt_cloud, start=0, _sorted_pts=[]):
    """Recursively sorts points by distance.

Args:
      pt_cloud (Rhino.Geometry.PointCloud): A point cloud to sort
      start (int): A start point index to sort from

Returns:
      The sequentially sorted points.
    """
    if pt_cloud.Count < 1:
        return _sorted_pts

test_pt = pt_cloud.PointAt(start)
    _sorted_pts.append(test_pt)
    pt_cloud.RemoveAt(start)

closest = pt_cloud.ClosestPoint(test_pt)
    if closest == -1:
        return _sorted_pts

return sort_sequentially_rec(pt_cloud, closest, _sorted_pts)

if __name__ == "__main__":