Template script for Toggle RhinoCommands

Hi there,
I am totally new to Rhino (and new to scripting),
but I learned from googleing, that I cant use macros to toggle between to functions in Rhino…

For example, I would like to toggle “_PointsOn” and “_PointsOff” with a single Button/Key.
Or “Layer" and "-Layer _Visible=_No _Enter”

Actually I want to have many different Toggles, therefore I would like to write a template script where I simply paste the needed RhinoCommands.

Can this be done using rhinoscript/ python? Any suggestions?

Thanks jj

There are commands that ARE toggles, or have toggle command-line options, they can be macro’d easily enough. Trying to make your own toggles where they don’t exist could I suppose be done using Python to save the state between running the command, but it might be a bit tricky and I wouldn’t frankly recommend, for example, using a single button for points on/off, that doesn’t sound useful.

If you’re totally new to Rhino take the time to learn how it works out of the box before spending a bunch of time scripting (and learning how to script) to try to make it work differently.

In addition to Jim’s comment, you might want to take a look at Options->Rhino Options->Keyboard. It will show you the current keyboard shortcuts and associated Command Macro.
There are also Aliases that can be set as well. Options->Rhino Options->Aliases.

For example, keyboard shortcuts F10 and F11 are, (by default), set to ! _PointsOn and ! _PointsOff

You can set keyboard shortcuts/custom buttons/Aliases to run macros. Those macros may call rhino commands or script files. For example, to call a python script, it would look something like this:

!-RunPythonScript "D:\RhinoPyScripts\msgBox.py"

To reiterate Jim’s comment, you may find that the functionality you are looking for is already built in. Explore the various tabs/toolbars. The Layer toolbar has various tools for hiding/showing layers. Including OneLayerOff and OneLayerOn.