Symmetry command selection problem

Hello, I’m new to using Rhino, and so far I’ve been learning by reading the user’s manual. I got to the point of making the toy thing and I’ve encountered a problem. There’s a part where you have to use the symmetry command to make a copy of the first finished wheel. However, when I select the wheel and then click on the symmetry command in the meny or write it in the command line, all of my wheel’s parts are deselected and I’m prompted in the command line to select a curve or surface. Furthermore, even if I’m being prompted to select a curve or surface, I can’t seem to be able to select my wheel or any other objects at all. I don’t remember playing around with Rhino’s settings or anything like that, but maybe I accidentally did something to cause this situatuion? Is there a way I can solve this? I’ve been trying looking around for this problem on the internet to no avail, but luckily enough, I found this forum and hopefully someone here can help me. I’m using the Rhino 6 trial version on Windows 10. Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance to anyone who might respond.

From Ncik’s recommendation, here’s my model in case it might help:
Toy.3dm (437.5 KB)

Edit: I also tried doing this on a different computer that also has WIndows 10 and same version of Rhino and this time I only tried using Symmetry on a simple sphere but had the same issue. Maybe I’m just not doing things the right way?

Edit 2: Thanks to DiegoKrause, now I know I should have used Mirror, but I didn’t think of it too much because the translation of the user’s guide in my language did say to use Symmetry.

Welcome to rhino and the forum. Someone should be able to help, as I’m on the tablet and never use symmetry it won’t be me. In the mean time please upload your model as that will help with the advice.

Thanks, I’ll keep on sitting tight. And I didn’t even know I could upload my model, so I will do that.