Sweep Plane until Lower Section has a certain volume

Hello,

I am new to Kangaroo, and I have a simple problem I am trying to solve:

• I have two shapes: a plane and a box as shown in the photo:

• The plane cuts the box into two parts (upper and lower).

• The box is fixed, but the plane is allowed to move up and down.

• I want to find the position of the plane such that the lower part is a certain value (let’s say 40% of the original box volume).

• Can this be done in Kangaroo, and how?

I would appreciate any tips and advice.

Background about the question: I am currently working on floating city project at Princeton, and the box actually represents the platform of the floating city; the plane represents the waterline at rest.
Solving the problem above can help me understand the stability of floating cities using potential energy.

Thanks in advance!

For a simple geometry like this I don’t think there’s any need to use Kangaroo - it can be a simple geometric calculation.
If this is an example leading to more complex geometries though, here’s an example I made a while ago for simulating floating objects using Archimedes’ principle
buoyancy_archimedes.gh (60.1 KB)

10 Likes

If you’re just dealing with an upright box, I don’t think you need Kangaroo. If the box has a height H, and you want the bottom volume to be 40% of the total, then the plane, oriented any way you like (so long as it does not intersect the top or bottom) should pass through a point .40*H along the line going from the base through the centroid. BTW, I’m using a Python component that splits a brep with a plane that I downloaded from who knows where, who knows when.

Box Slice.gh (13.9 KB)

2 Likes

this looks amazing! yes I am eventually looking to do more complex shapes for sure. By the way, how did you calculate the angle of floatation? did you use metacenter or potential energy?