String text manipulation

Is there a way to manipulate string texts? I particular I am trying to strip a layer name from its parent layer name, i.e. convert “parent::child” into “child”. I know how to generate “parent”, but not how to strip it off the total string.

Max.

Something like this?

layer_name='Parent::Child'
parts=layer_name.split('::')
print parts[-1]
>>>'Child'
1 Like

Thank you Mitch! Can you tell me where such syntax info is to be found? I have searched the RhinoPython site and looked into the RhinoPythonPrimer document, but could not find it anywhere. I have little background in programming, I have manipulated strings in MS Excel (Concatenate, Midstr, Leftstr etc.), but that is about all.

Max.

These are basic Python string manipulation methods, so they are not really covered in Rhino/Python documentation. There are lots of Python learning sites and books, here is a page with some resources… I started with Beginning Python by Magnus Lie Hetland, but there are tons of others out there.

Otherwise, the Python online doc is also pretty good, especially if you already have a notion of what you’re looking for and you just need to find the precise function/syntax. This page covers some of the basic types.

Learning some basic Python methods for working with strings, lists, loops, etc. is invaluable.

–Mitch

Thanks for your support Mitch. Your last link did not work, but I am guessing you are referring to the ‘Python online doc > Language Reference’ -page. I will have a closer look.

Max.

Sorry… Fixed.

Hi Mitch,
I did look at the page you suggested, but I am afraid that most of it is way beyond my comprehension, or so involved that it would take me a lot of time to study it, and I would rather spend that time making pretty pictures in Rhino, and creating a little tool in python now and then.