Rhinocommon 101

Hi all,

Does anyone know of some sort of resource for getting to grips with rhinocommon ?
I’m a C# developer. I can ‘do’ rhino and grasshopper and have scripted rhino before back when it was rhino script.
The problem I am facing is lack of practice in moving shapes around.

Yes did the maths primer aeons ago and the scripting primers. I’m fine with coding but rusty with coding geometries.

I’ve been studying the underlying maths but really wonder if getting knee deep in computational geometry is what I should be doing right now.

Before grasshopper, when any automation had to be scripted, there was loads of info on this but now it’s gone because it’s presumed run of the mill geometry work will be done in grasshopper.

Suggestions please.

Check out https://developer.rhino3d.com/ . The guides (specifically https://developer.rhino3d.com/guides/rhinocommon/) and the samples should get you started.

Hi Nathan,

Yes I did look at those; they were my first port of call. But the samples didn’t seem very geometry focussed.
Clearly its the rhinocommon.geometry namespace I need to focus on but the samples didn’t hit this much.
We all know rhino is all about vertices, curves, breps etc. Should I just start creating primitives long hand using rhinocommon.geometry and then do progressively more complex operations or can you suggest another way ?

Hi @cottonbale,

The Developer samples repo on GitHub has a ton of source code samples you might find helpful.

– Dale

Ok, I’ll go take a look.

Thanks Dale

BTW, I made this a topic by mistake - sorry about that - perhaps the administrator can revert it to a normal question

Hi Dale,

I took a look. There are quite a lot of samples.

This being said, given that rhinocommon is the future of rhino development I can’t understand why there is no introductory guide.