Problem running and debugging compute locally

I have a grasshopper file written almost exclusively in ghPython that I would like to eventually add to a personal website. I’m rather new to any coding as it relates to the web so forgive me if the following question is simple or the answer is readily available somewhere. From what I’ve been able to piece together deploying Rhino.Compute on an AWS EC2 instance is my best bet.

I’ve tried to follow this guide but I can’t get compute running. When I try to to compile src\compute.sln as Debug, the only debugging options I see are launching different versions of Hops. If I attempt to run that, I get a pop up message from VS Code that reads: launch: program " does not exist. In the Debug console I get the following:

You may only use the Microsoft .NET Core Debugger (vsdbg) with
Visual Studio Code, Visual Studio or Visual Studio for Mac software
to help you develop and test your applications.

I may be missing something very basic in VS Code or perhaps I have the wrong build? I followed the guide as closely as I could but am wondering if it’s out of date. Any help on this or suggestions of a different avenue to try would be much appreciated!

Hi Jacob. If you’re trying to run rhino.compute on a virtual machine (ie. AWS EC2), then I would recommend following this guide. Once you’ve got your VM up and running, you should be able to simply run two Powershell scripts to get everything setup for you. Please let us know if there is anything in the tutorial that isn’t clear or doesn’t work for you. Cheers.

Thanks Andy! I had seen that guide as well but I had wanted to be able to design/troubleshoot before paying the core hour bill. In the end, I was able to get compute.geometry and rhino.compute running on my local machine but I had to depart from what the guide suggested: