Parallel.For Crash

Hi,
I would like to use Parallel.For for this simple loop:

private void RunScript(List guid, List plane, Box box)
{
for(int i = 0; i < plane.Count; i++){
Rhino.Render.TextureMapping textureMapping = Rhino.Render.TextureMapping.CreateBoxMapping(plane[i], box.X, box.Y, box.Z, true);
Rhino.RhinoDoc.ActiveDoc.Objects.ModifyTextureMapping(guid[i], 1, textureMapping);
}
}

I tried this one, but it crashes rhino immediately.
Honestly I am new to multi-threading, can somebody tell why crash occurs and how to properly use Parallel.For in this case? Thank you :slight_smile:

private void RunScript(List guid, List plane, Box box)
{
System.Threading.Tasks.Parallel.For(0, plane.Count, i => {
Rhino.Render.TextureMapping textureMapping = Rhino.Render.TextureMapping.CreateBoxMapping(plane[i], box.X, box.Y, box.Z, true);
Rhino.RhinoDoc.ActiveDoc.Objects.ModifyTextureMapping(guid[i], 1, textureMapping);
});
}

I don’t think you can modify the document in a multi threaded way. Many geometry operations can be parallelyzed, but not the rhino doc.

Yes I tried line by line and rhinodoc is crashing rhino and grasshopper.

Why it is not possible to parallelyze rhinodoc?

Because there would be no point to it. Changes to a document need to happen in a pretty unambiguous order because objects need to be moved to a chronologically linear undo buffer and some operations require the document to be in a valid state. If multiple threads are all making changes to the same document at the same time there will be racing conditions.

I got this from gh forum, but it is faster just a very small amount:

var numbers = Enumerable.Range(0, plane.Count);
var result = numbers.AsParallel().AsOrdered();
foreach (var i in result)
{
}

I am wondering why ModifyTextureMapping operation becomes so slow when number of guids increases to let say 500 hundread?