Multi-threading C# PointCloud dist search

Hi,

I have no experience in multi-threading, but would like to ask how to turn this for loop distance search to a plane into a multi-threaded loop using C#.

Also any advice how to make this search quicker would be great.

public PointCloud Section(PointCloud cloud, Rhino.Geometry.Plane y,  double tol = 0.5) {
      double[] eq = y.GetPlaneEquation();
      double denom = 1 / Math.Sqrt(eq[0] * eq[0] + eq[1] * eq[1] + eq[2] * eq[2]);

PointCloud cloudSection = new PointCloud();

foreach (PointCloudItem it in cloud) {

if (Math.Abs(FastPlaneToPt(denom, eq[0], eq[1], eq[2], eq[3], it.Location)) <= tol) {
          cloudSection.Add(it.Location);
        }

}

return cloudSection;
    }

Hi Petras, as always, only a runtime test will show whether a parallel loop will actually give any better performance, but in order to try I would always (always) skip the “foreach” approach and only work with predefined lengths of arrays. This is simply because a parallel loop can then distribute the work freely between indexes (individual “i’s”) between threads without causing conflict (overwriting any data, aka “dataraces”).

So in this case I would

1. Make the “cloudSection” of equal size of the source cloud.
  2. Run the loop in parallel
  3. and after that first loop I would make second loop scanning the “cloudSection” for actual values, skipping the blanks (due to the if clause) and so adding only the valid values to a final result list.

So, two loops - one static array processed in parallel, and second loop collecting (adding) into a dynamic list the results being spread all over the array.

The key point here being the words “static” (avoids data races) and “dynamic” (typically not “safe” for parallel computing), hence the splitting into two steps (loops). Your loop would thus look something like this (untested, written on the fly, I probably messed up the types but you fix that):