Move or copy a file with C#

Hi, I have a wombat component which does not work (error: Path access denied). I tried a different path but that results in the same error.

I believe this can also be done in C#, hoping that someone can help me with that.
I’m looking for a copy/move from path entry and a copy/move to path entry with a boolean to trigger it.

Thank you.

Since you are using Google Drive have you tried pausing the syncing of files while you need to save locally?

I tried to do it with a local path too, not related to google drive, but it results into the same error.

I don’t have high hopes for a C# script to succeed here, but you want to use File.Copy from the System.IO namespace.

2 Likes

I read in another post that indeed people referred to that as well. Unfortunately I don’t have any knowledge on how to write it. I was hoping people with more experience could help me with that tbh :slight_smile:

Why you don’t have hopes? Your suggestion works!
2021-09-18 22_25_17-Window

c# copy file.gh (5.1 KB)

using System.IO;

private void RunScript(string from_path, string to_path, bool go, ref object A)
  {
    if(go){
      File.Copy(from_path, to_path);
    }
  }

I meant in the case of the OP. There already is an access denied problem - there may be a deeper problem. Of course, if it works it is great!

Thank you. Unfortunately it does not work as well. I’ve saved the grasshopper definition on my local drive too to test it out but the result is the same. Do you guys have any other possible solutions to try out?

As Nathan said, it’s a permission problem.
Where the .gh file is stored is irrelevant.
The problem is rhino (and so grasshopper, that execute the .gh code) that have not enough permissions to work with files in the machine.
Maybe OSx have ways to give more permissions to a program?
On windows you can “Run as Administrator” any program.
I know nothing about anything related to Apple.
Maybe open rhino with a sudo? :sweat_smile: