Modeling Terrain: Need a little help please!

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting in here so I apologize if I am doing it in the wrong place or the wrong way. Best way to describe what I am doing is with pictures. The CAD guys send me over a file so I can make them a model in 3D.

I then turn it into this 3D model and print it out.

My question is…Does anyone know how I would take those contour lines from the first picture and show them in the model like this last picture??

The people who made this one said they used Rhino and selected the contour lines and used the pipe command. That is all the info I got on from them.
Any ideas?

maybe they said the Patch command instead of Pipe?

Definitely not patch. I usually just delete those lines and make the model but my boss was wondering if I can figure out how to stick the lines on the model like that last picture.

oh… ok, i see now.
thought that was just a manufacturing scar.

not sure then.

Here is another example of a model with the lines in it.

oh… those lines.
have you tried Pipe?

Yeah I am pretty sure that is how its done but I am not sure how to connect the pipes to the mesh. Ive only been doing this for a couple months.

I’m not sure exactly what you mean. Many of us using Rhino refer to the 3D thing in the computer that shows on the screen as a “model”. On the other hand, your pictures look like your ultimate goal is a 3D printed physical model. So that raises the question: are you concerned with showing the contour lines on the screen display of the rhino model, or with having them embossed on the surface of your physical model (or both)? Also, I presume you just want the actual contour lines and not any of the other lines: edges, UV, etc.?

Another question: Is the CAD data you receive a 2D or 3D file?

1 Like

if i understand correctly, the first picture has a meshed terrain on the right and curves on the left.

you could try something like this: