Message: Parameter must be a Guid or string representing a Guid

Hi, im working in some algortihms in rhino python wihout grasshopper, when i run my code appears a message “Message: Parameter must be a Guid or string representing a Guid” im not really getting what it means because i cant solve the problem and its the first time it appear to me.

I used to worked with rhinoscript and never appear.

Im kind of new with python in rhino so please if anyone cant enlight me with a little theory or a text that somebody can refer me to, i will really apreciate it.

Thanks

2 Likes

Probably you are trying to pass something that hasn’t yet been added to the document to a rhinoscriptsyntax method that is expecting a GUID of an object that already exists in the document… The best is to put a breakpoint in the script editor just before the line where it errors out and check exactly what you’re passing in…

HTH, --Mitch

1 Like

Ok, but how i can add that thing the guid or the string, what i understand is that the string is a variable so when i try to pass that informatiuon to a function, the message appear, this is a little examplo of what im talking about.

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs

c = rs.GetCurveObject(“select curve”)
copy = rs.CopyObject( c, [0,0,10])
rs.DeleteObject(copy)

what is the problem with this example.

Thanks for the also answers. .

Hi Carlos,

rs.GetCurveObject will return a list with specifics of the curve picked ( see documentation)
If you simply need the curve Guid, use rs.GetObject (with the filter set to 4 (curve objects) if you only want curve to be picked)

HTH
-Willem

As per what Willem said, it is important not only to understand what functions expect for input arguments, but also to know what they return. They could return a variety of things, from a string or a GUID (not the same thing), to a number, to a Boolean value (True/False) to a list or tuple, to even a nested list…