Match average leaves gaps between surfaces

Is this normal behavior? I’ve never used average before.

2019%2009-07-10

Note how the preview shows the surfaces with no gap, yet after I press OK, everything jumps back to the previous state.

alignaverage.3dm (72.3 KB)

1 Like

you may have history enabled and are fighting that?

Hello - try RebuildEdges or Untrim - fwiw, your file does not show this gap here - the edges are .002 apart before the match, 8.26e-07 after… with Automatic on the isocurve direction.

-Pascal

1 Like

MatchSrf works for me. Looks like the command is not completing for you.

1 Like

Hello! A bit late on this conversation… I have the same problem with rhino 7 SR15. It basically doesn’t modify/move the other surface when I match with “average surfaces” on. The surfaces edges are untrimmed and I already tried RebuildEdges but nothing changed. It worked on rhino 5

1 Like

Hello- please post an example file and the settings used in MatchSrf.

-Pascal

Hello Pascal, here is the .3dm file and 3 pictures: first one is with settings, second is after MatchSrf (see the overlap), the last one is how it should look (I just mirrored the surface)
Please tell me if it’s all clear or if you need more
Thank you

ibiza.3dm (2.8 MB)

1 Like

Hi Enrico - thanks - that seems to work as expected here -

Can you please run the SystemInfo command in Rhino and copy/paste the results here?

-Pascal

Also works for me as expected.

There are pairs of surfaces for which MatchSrf with Average surfaces checked and Refine match not checked results in gaps, but not this pair.

Here it is:

Rhino 7 SR15 2022-2-8 (Rhino 7, 7.15.22039.13001, Git hash:master @ 2833e18992fc4b5cf99bb29c4d8e8add4f02074d)
License type: Commercial, build 2022-02-08
License details: Stand-Alone

Windows 10.0.19044 SR0.0 or greater (Physical RAM: 7.9Gb)

Computer platform: DESKTOP

Standard graphics configuration.