Mass calculation from ditch

Hello, I’m new to Grasshopper. i’m trying to learn how to calculate mass from a ditch ive made with lines. I will link my GH script with rhino model for a better understanding.

Calculate mass (M3) from lines(updated).gh (17.1 KB)

Surface.3dm (195.3 KB)

missing

I know, but much of it is missing:

Sorry! my bad, here is a updated version without the quadri plugin
This should work with the Rhino model
Calculate mass (M3) from lines(updated).gh (17.1 KB)

Aaaaaaaaargh :sweat_smile:

Are you looking for the volume contained between the triangles and the mesh ?

1 Like

Yes, the script is a mess atm. I just started learning GH. i know i should have cleaned it up a little before i posted it :sweat_smile:

I also want to point out that the slider at the start of the script will make more lines and points. My idea was to use this for a very detailed way to calculated the mass

OK, first there is a major problem here with this value

The comma separator is used for points, not numbers. So actually you are speciflying the point (0, 75/2 tan(53) , 0) with this panel. It should be 0.75, not 0,75.
Second, angles in GH are in radians, so tan(53) is NOT computed as tan(53°).

Finally, since you project the offset polylines on the mesh, but the height varies, there is no guarantee the angle of the slope will be 53°, is this what you are after ?

Also, dividing a polyline with more points won’t do much since the straight segments will remain straight.

I built a huge triangular Sweep, then split it by the mesh to retrieve the closed volume.

Edit - slightly better version with Sweep1, no need for grafting.

Calculate mass (M3) from lines(updated)_split brep.gh (23.9 KB)

1 Like

Amazing! and yeah you are right about the angle slope aswell. i was trying to make some calculations to get the bottom to be 1 meter wide and then a 53° angle upwards to the surface. Thank you so much for the help with this! I’ve been struggling a while

1 Like