Mac vs Windows for grasshopper

Hi! Mac vs Windows for grasshopper, that’s the question!
I think about changing my machine, I work on MacBook Pro 2014(i7, 16Gb Ram, nVidia), and do some stuff in rhino and grasshopper (I’m a beginner in grass) I heard that grasshopper isn’t supported really on macOs, but is it really true? What do you think about using grasshopper on Mac, is it worth it?

“Mac vs Windows” is always more a matter of personal situation/opinion.
Why you have a mac instead of a windows pc?

How much are you used with OSx? And what about windows?
Is it worth to change your habits around your whole system for a single software?

Rhino is mainly targeted for windows users, so on mac everything is somehow “delayed”.

In my personal viewpoint, if you have to buy a new computer, a non-Apple solution will give you better performance for a smaller price.
But if you are not strictly interested in performance… you have to weight your other needs!
Maybe you need the touchbar. :rofl:
Tbh i really can’t imagine any reason to prefer a mac over a pc. :zipper_mouth_face:

Different needs. You know better what you need.

One thing for sure: if you need the best available reliability and productivity with rhino and grasshopper, go windows.

But if you are learning…

I know a friends that uses virtualized Windows inside OSx. It works pretty much fine but he had to sacrifice 30+ GB for windows.
If you end up deciding for a mac, and if you are considering the virtualization option, pick a memory larger than 256GB!!

Hello sailor!

Rhinoceros is supported on both windows and mac, and grasshopper too!

Here are the compatibility requirements for both windows and mac.