Learning Rhino from scratch on mac

I am completely new to rhino and have it installed on my MacBook Pro.

Yesterday, I spend an hour looking for tutorials on rhino and found that virtually all of them are for windows rhino. The interface layout is completely different which makes things a lot less easy to follow.

Are there any videos for getting started on rhino for mac ?

1 Like

Not yet…

–Mitch

A highly recommended starting point is: in Rhino > Menus > Help > Learn Rhino > Open Level 1 Training Manual

While not the solution you’re looking for, and a little “messy” (as you say) the commands are named the same and the icons are similar. Typing the commands works well enough. The Tutorial Models are quite good to play with, and relate to the Training Manuals 1 and 2.

Lots of good help on this forum when/if you get stuck!

On a more philosophical note for the good folks at McNeel: pointing people to a good starting point is a definite area of improvement. Simply put, new users are often lost amid the flood of resources.

For example: If a new user follows the command hierarchy above, but instead chooses first item “Getting Started…” – which seems natural for someone, you know… getting started – the new user is directed to a bewildering page of hotlinks to resources and command descriptions. This page is useful for someone who is looking to “Learn Even More”, but not as a Start Here resource it seems.

~Dave

1 Like

I suppose it’s probably too late now, but, even as a Mac person, I would have preferred that the Mac version UI of Rhino be VERY SIMILAR tho the Windows version. For people who have been brought up on the Windows version that want to move to the Mac platform, having to relearn the Mac version is cumbersome.

Autodesk tried to Macify their Autocad for Mac, and pretty much made it unusable for those who have been using the Windows version.