Laser cutting optimization

Hi,

first, I am a total noob for 2D cutting → please excuse my ignorance…

I am currently doing 2D drawings which will be used for laser cutting. I also do the nesting, the hole thing consists of 414 elements, each of them has also multiple inside cuts (blue lines).

It is for a Kern laser (Table size 100"X52")

I already deleted any adjacent / duplicate lines.

Now from here, I export it as an *.ai file (illustrator) and my college openes it in Corel draw, to optimize it for cutting, by manually giving each element a number in which they are to be printed in order to have the laser travel the minimal amout and by that minimizing the print time.

This final step takes forever, so I wonder if there might be a way or a software to automate this process and maybe be able to do it in rhino …

Any help or suggestions are really appreciated !

Andreas

I guess with GH you will have some tools for that but I don’t know how to use it. about the nesting I often use Deepnest.io which is free and online, it may take a while but works quite well.

Hi Andreas - how are you giving the objects numbers? I mean, how is that designated, by object name, or?

-Pascal

Yes, that was my question as well, how is this object number data transferred to the laser cutter so it knows which order to cut?

We used to use a sorting routine that David made as a plug-in back in the Rhino 4 days when the cutting order was based on the date of the objects in the file - until the laser cutter manufacturer brought out a better driver that actually managed to do a better job of sorting natively. Unfortunately not all laser cutter drivers have optimized their sorting.

thank you Guys ! I am just having Ignacio (my college…) chime in here