How to alter /control different in height of the curve

Hi all,
I am a beginner on Rhino grasshopper. I learn to built this based on the tutorial video by Mr David Rutten. Is there any way to alter or change the parameters of height and width in my design?
What parameter or input that i need to use to control the height ?

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

trial rebuilt 2202.3dm (2.0 MB) trial rebuilt 2202.gh (9.8 KB)

Yes.

Welcome @cyas_22,

In Grasshopper, as in life, many roads lead to Rome! That being said, David’s definition doesn’t seem to be geared towards precise heights, but has great randomness.

You should also note that by using the BiArc component, the height of each arc is equal to its width. This means that your arc height is here equal to the distance between two end points divided by 2.

One way to control the arc heights without losing too much of the random appeal, is by using attractor points (green).

The closer a division point is to one of these points the closer the resulting height is to a maximum height value, and vis versa.

You can control many aspects of this definition (e.g. number of attractors, randomness, transitions, heights, etc.) and all arc heights are between a minimum and maximum height value! Feel free to experiment a little.

control_heights.gh (21.5 KB)

4 Likes

Having your geometry so very far from the origin can cause problems.

trial_rebuilt_2020Feb23a2

Curves are internalized in this model, no need for Rhino file.

trial_rebuilt_2020Feb23a.gh (20.0 KB)

Play with all three sliders and the Graph Mapper controls to make changes.

1 Like

Hi, Thank you @Joseph_Oster & @diff-arch for the explanation in solving the issue.

I have rebuild the arc instead of using BiArc component in order to achieve control individual arc height.
Follow tutorial from Grasshopper Attractor - Weaverbird - YouTube