How does grasshopper affect creative thinking when designing?

Hello,

I’m a student in the UK and have been using grasshopper for a couple of months now. I’m doing a research project into using algorithms and scripting in the design process and what effect this has on creative thinking.

So firstly, what are people opinions on how creativity is affected when using a tool such as grasshopper to design?

Also, how do you tackle a design brief when using grasshopper? Do you have a fixed idea of the outcome before starting or does the algorithm dictate what it looks like?

Thanks to anyone who is able to help me with this!
Joe

Grasshopper is a gateway to algorithmic thinking. This is the point. It is like a efficient framework to solve creative problems because it is based on analyzing all the elements and relationships between elements that have the problem, to establish a cognitive environment with more restrictions (the fewer restrictions, the more difficult it is to create or find a solution), from top to bottom (from the whole to its parts) breaking down the problem into more treatable subproblems; or the other way around, from the bottom to the top (from the parts towards the whole) where step by step you build what is necessary to continue walking. I mean, creativity is a process too. Like life, cultural evolution or brewing coffee, are also processes. And algorithmic design or generative design is the art of processes, where the algorithm is the entity that gives skeletal stiffness to the amorphous bodies of ideas.

1 Like