Gh 8 file not opening in GH 7

Surely this can’t be a surprise? Created in R8:

area_r8_2024Feb21a

area_r8_2024Feb21a.gh (3.5 KB)

Opened in R7:

area_r8_2024Feb21a2

area_r8_2024Feb21a3

Hi @Joseph_Oster,

Thanks for the sample. I’ve logged the issue - https://mcneel.myjetbrains.com/youtrack/issue/RH-80567

I don’t know the backwards compatibility policy; seems like this should work.

– Dale

Yes, unless it was done deliberately. As a life-long programmer, I can’t understand this… No QA process at all? Or… The first time I tried R8, September 2023, I found this glaring flaw:

Two flaws actually:

1. baked without the hole and

2. a weird construction plane default, as I recall.

In R8 (BETA) , it first appears to work the same way, until I click the “Update” (Bake) button. The untrimmed surface is baked, without the hole :exclamation: Then it gets very weird - when I select the surface in Rhino, the construction plane tilts :exclamation: :question: Oh wait, that happens only when I click the baked surface in Perspective view. No, wait… when I move the selected surface in Top view, the gumball tilts when I stop moving and then all views are messed up.

I gave up on R8 then.

There were a lot of changes to GH for V8, including in the mass properties components. No doubt, some incompatibilities were introduced. I’ll wait for the developer to chime in.

– Dale

1 Like

Here is a work-around that clearly could be better integrated into R7 code. The same error message still happens, which is far from ideal, but you can ignore it because this cluster uses whatever version works. It looks the same on the outside in both R8 (where I wrote it) and R7:

area_r8_2024Feb21b

The “magic” happens inside the cluster:

area_r8_2024Feb21b2
area_r8_2024Feb21b.gh (6.5 KB)

The new area component in R8 has optional outputs, which includes the error in both area and centroid. This makes it incompatible with the old Area component.