Curve Network - Fail - Help!

Hi,

Anyone know why this curve network is failing (its my first attempt at one).

My guess is at least two of the long curves are joined. Split them into separate curves and try again.

When asking why something does not work upload the file if possible. Use the small vertical arrow in the tool bar above where you type your post.

yes, the blue curve is a closed single curve. so is the pink curve. I need to break these at the end pts?

Split at end points and try again.

Have a look at the Help topic for the command. It does a good job of describing how open and closed curves need to be arranged for the command to work.

It will help to keep in mind that the topology of a NURBS surface is a rectangle.
If your input curves are laid out like a mesh it will work.
If your curves are closed in one direction and open in the other, the rectangle is rolled into a tube and two of the opposing sides are joined in a seam.

Thank you John and David, That seemed to fix the issue. Two artifacts formed in the surface though:

1. A strange transition between the curves – not averaged or smooth or controllable. I could add more curves, but that doesn’t seem like it will overcome the basic transition problem. I expect a smoother fade out between curves and would be nice to control the rate of change between them (linear or non). I assume I am doing something wrong?

2. A blowout on the end. Why did this occur, why does the surface not conform to the curves?

3. How to make the surface display less faceted?

I’m use to subd modeling and not yet sure how to get the most out of nurbs.

Transition Issue

Blowout Issue

Some of what you are seeing appears to be visual artifacts due to a coarse display mesh. You can change the settings DocumentProperties (or Properties in the File menu tab) > Mesh. If Jagged & faster is selected switch to Smoother & slower and see if that helps. Further refinement is available by selecting the Custom option.