CSG modelling in Rhino5 for capturing internal control points of 3d solids

Hello every one.
Concisely, how can I obtain internal control points and knot vectors of 3D NURBS models?
Although the B-Rep parameterizations could be gained and exported from Rhino, the Constructive solid Geometry models could not be modeled. How can I overcome this task?

Hi Mohamad,

The method depends on what development tool are you using. Are you writing a plug-in? Are you using C++ or C#?

Rhino is a freeform model and does not maintain a CSG tree, history, etc. like a traditional solid modeler.

Perhaps you can share with us the specific problem you are trying to solve, and why?

Thanks,

– Dale

Thank you very much dear Dale
Currently, I am a phd student of structural engineering who is new user of Rhino. And I does not utilize any specific plugin, etc related to 3d control points/parametrization. Actually, I am working on 3d Isogeometric Analysis which requires 3d NURBS parametrization, ie. degrees of NURBS, 3d control points and 3d knot vectors. How can I overcome this issue?
Thanks a lot for your time in advance

I have used .obj format to obtain the untrimmed 2d control points and open knot vectors and there is not any problem. However, when I model the trimmed 2d surfaces and 3d solids, using this format will not yield to the actual EN BLOC geometries.

What issue? I understand you want the definition of NURBS curves and surfaces, which Rhino can provide. But how to you want these definitions delivered? That is, in what form do you want this information, and how do you expect to get it?

Sorry for the questions. I’m sure we can help you - just now sure how. :wink:

– Dale

1 Like