Creating 3-axis CNC millable geometry from a complex SubD

Hello! I am fairly new to Rhino so please bear with me. I have created a SubD model for a furniture piece I need to fabricate. The final piece will me made out of cast cement, so I need to make a mold of this model. To do so, I want to CNC mill the model out of high density foam like the 1" thick Pink Panther insulation foam sold at Home Depot. There is a local company who will work with me to mill the foam, but they only have a 3-axis mill, and not a 5-axis mill. My current model is a 1"thick offest SubD, and when I split this into 1" sections along the z-axis the resulting parts have undercuts which the 3-axis mill canā€™t handle. So, I think I need to sacrifice the inside contours of my model to create parts without undercuts, which is ok with me if need be. The modelā€™s outside surface contour is whatā€™s most important for my mold-making. My question is how can I create the parts I need for the CNC mill from my SubD model? I have tried several attempts and canā€™t figure it out. Any help is much appreciated!
Earthstar_1_For Mill.3dm (19.2 MB)
Earthstar_Sections.3dm (10.4 MB)

Example:
Earthstar_1_For Mill.3dm (9.9 MB)

with 3 axis stuff, you can leave tabs on the part connecting it to a ā€œframeā€ and then simply flip it and run the other sideā€¦ takes more time than a 5 axis, but totally doable. I used to do very complex stuff (characters, cars, etc) on a 3 axis when I was doing toy stuff.

1 Like

thanks for taking the time! I could see this being useful as a ready to pour one-time mold milled from foam. The sections would need to be cut from both sides by flipping the workpiece as @theoutside mentions to deal with undercuts on a 3-axis mill.