Conditional branch merging based on data values (using VB script)

Hi everyone,

I’m a total newbie to grasshopper and VB (started less than a week ago), so please bear with me if I’m being dumb.

I have a tree with different values of data within it (see image attached). All I want to do using the VB script is to create a new tree structure which has branches based on data values (for the mentioned example, I would like to two branches with data going to branch 1 if the values are 123000 ± 1000 and branch 2 if values are 120000 ± 1000!

P.S. I’ve been having trouble accessing the values from the data trees and manipulating, and I haven’t found the best source for related literature yet. The grasshopper primer has very limited information. If someone could point me to a better resource (if you can think of one), that would be super helpful.

Thanks!

Branching

Like so? number-tree-sort.gh (26.3 KB)

Thank you for your prompt response @DavidRutten. That’s perfect!

Hi again @DavidRutten, I was trying to modify the code to expand it for branched lists with another added branch by adding a loop in the definition as follows:

’ Iterate over all values.
For Each number As Double In N
’ Iterate over target ranges.
For j As Int32 = 0 To N.BranchCount - 1
For i As Int32 = 0 To ranges.Length - 1
If (ranges(i).IncludesParameter(number)) Then
’ Found a range which contains the number.
tree.Add(number, New GH_Path(j, i))
Exit For
End If
Next
Next
Next

But it gives me an error saying “Error (BC32023): Expression is of type ‘Grasshopper.DataTree(Of Double)’, which is not a collection type. (line 99)”.

I went through a similar thread here but didn’t know what the resolutions was.

These two loops conflict logically:

For Each number As Double In N
For j As Int32 = 0 To N.BranchCount - 1