Boolean-difference pipe network from solid

Hi!

I am trying to subtract a network of pipes from a surface. The goal is to mill this surface with the tracks from the pipe network and build a model with small elements.

The boolean difference keeps failing. There are no naked or manifold edges, the objects are not grouped - put them in 2 layers (mold and pipe) to be able to select all for the boolean difference.

I’m sure I am missing something obvious as I am not too experienced and would love some help/input.

Im attaching the rhino file, the two important layers are mold and pipe, rest is mumbo jumbo.

Thanks in advance! Albin

think you forgot to join file :grinning:

I did upload the file but maybe I’m not doing it right? I can’t see it either.

try to reupload

Just drag and drop the file into the message window… --Mitch

now?

Nope - perhaps the file size is too big?

Ah. That could be it!

Maybe this works better:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1bDA5cBl8jZAkPoJIhbk7_VTUSws60Kwf

Damn !

Not easy to do, do you want to keep each Triangular shapes separated and cut each parts with each pipes intertesecting with ?

first i think you need to change your tolerance to 0.001 , boolean will work better, but that’s not the solution for all.

may be it’s a work for grasshopper.

I just want a surface that follows the shape of the “tent” structure, but with tracks outlined in it that can be milled - imagine I lift up the net of pipes, and the dent the pipes would have made is now visible in the surface.

I can then build the framework with small elements that I place in the milled tracks and glue together or join in some other way.

It works just as well the other way round, if I could “dip” the whole object i have now and get the negative of it, and mill that. To be honest this would probably be preferred, because I would not have to work in the deep “holes”, instead they would be peaks!