Alternative AutoCAD for Energy Simulation Purpose

Hi, greetings to you!

I’m a student.

Currently, I’m using Rhino and Grasshopper as a GUI to display energy-used on buildings. And I’m also simulating building using EnergyPlus. Since I have a number of architecture drawings for my thesis purpose that comes up with a .dwg file extension. And I use it only for displaying and print it as a .pdf file. Do you guys, especially for energy-building profession, have alternative CAD software to open .dwg (maybe an opensource software) ? I’ve been using nanoCAD (nanocad.com), but for some reason there’s a feature I believe that doesn’t come require in nanoCAD to my needs.

So I use these CAD software to print from .dwg file. Then I import it to Rhino to make a building model. And yeah, while Rhino can open .dwg file, but it seems not friendly to see. Since I have .dwg file from third-party. Also, I can’t install AutoCAD since it takes alot of disk and it’s too heavy.

Thank you for reading my question.

Hi Fahad -

Perhaps this is the issue that you should be trying to solve? Can you post a dog file that is giving you issues and a clear description of what those issues are?
Also, please run the Rhino SystemInfo command and post the results here.
-wim

Hi Wim,

You are right. Yeah, it should be. But while I open the .dwg file, my PC runs too much lag

Last post

I’ve posted previously in this forum. Here’s what I got

Rhino 7 SR7 2021-6-9 (Rhino 7, 7.7.21160.05001, Git hash:master @ d2161989109d5dacba531310b5d345ce6f4da9f6)
License type: Evaluation, build 2021-06-09
License details: Cloud Zoo
Expires on: 2021-08-07

Windows 10.0.19042 SR0.0 or greater (Physical RAM: 5.9Gb)

Computer platform: LAPTOP - Plugged in

Hybrid graphics configuration.
Primary display: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (Intel) Memory: 2GB, Driver date: 5-19-2016 (M-D-Y).

Integrated graphics device with 2 adapter port(s)

• Windows Main Display is laptop’s integrated screen or built-in port