Regarding NURBS modeling of a stent using 8 control points

Hello,I was trying to model a stent (biomedical device) centerline using NURBS with 8 control points as shown in the figure.But,as I try to do this in Rhino using Curve->Free form->Control points, the curve also passes through control points 2 and 5 too(apart from the start and end points 0 and 7 ,respectively) .I tried to change the weights of the control points 2 and 5 ,but it still passes from those 2 points .Since,I am a newbie to the use of these nurbs ,so would be really helpful if anyone can guide me regarding the problem.

Hi Sachin,

not sure if i understand correctly, but assuming the curve starts from 0, and has to pass through the mid point - then you can make half the curve with 4 control points, and move middle two points to get the shape you need, and the mirror it (twice). Is this what you are trying to do?:

Usually it’s best to move control points rather than change the weights to modify a shape. raja has shown a good example of how to make the curve. Any particular reason for the control point arrangement in the first post?

Hi Sachin - it is hard to see how that point arrangement can possibly result in the curve shape you show.

-Pascal

Maybe playing with the weights ?

nurbscurve.gh (7.3 KB)

( Sorry, I’m not a GH expert )

Hello .Thanks for your replies.

Basically ,I’m following a research paper and trying to understand the way they have parametrized the stent center line. The image that I had posted is the one from that particular literature. In short ,they have fixed the control points,the knot vector, and the degree and only used the weights of the three control points ( the other part being the reflection of the first part ) as decision variables,for the design optimization problem in hand .The below is the para from the said literature:

“The centerline of a single stent segment is represented
as a NURBS curve. A control polygon with eight nodes is