XL line tool

Hello.

This topic has been mentioned once before, but there was no solution at the time. I’m hoping that maybe now, someone might be able to suggest a workaround.

I’ve been using Rhino for 10 years, primarily for architectural design as a 3D package in combination with AutoCad. However, I’m trying to shift to doing all 2D work in Rhino from now on if possible.

There’s one command that I really miss, which I can’t work out how to make in Rhino. In Cad, I have the ability to use XL Lines (infinite lines) which I have set to a hotkey. This means I can push one button and automate either an infinite horizontal (x axis) or vertical (y axis) to appear where I have my cursor. In Rhino, I use the line or polyline command (which is also to a hotkey) but it requires selecting where the line will start and where the line will end. Although, trying to get around this seems extremely lazy, when you spend all day drawing straight lines the extra clicking of start points and end points definitely adds up.

Is there a way to create a script, or tool to allow me to press one button that will create a straight (vertical/horizontal) line at the location of my cursor, without having to select where it starts and will end? Doesn’t have to be infinite, just a long line…

Thanks.

Hi - Have you checked the AddGuide command?
-wim

Hi Wim,

The query was not about adding guides, it was about creating a continuous (either horizontal or vertical) line with the tap of one button; without having to click start point and end point. Just hit one button, and it appears where your cursor is to place it. Thanks

Hi -

Does that mean that you have tried the AddGuide command?
I’m trying to get more information out of you so that a feature request can be created…
If the command had a vertical and horizontal option, would it do what you are asking for?

You can do that with scripting and with Grasshopper, yes. The tricky point here is the “long” part…
-wim

Hi Wim,