WPAP ART style in grasshopper

Hello Guys,

I am an artist based in Munich and in the last year i started to use grasshopper to help my art process. I am working on a Portrait research project and i am looking to create WPAP ART style in grasshopper. Like the image attached below. ( Image 1, Image 2 ).

It is basically triangulation or Polygonalization based on Brightness( greyscale values) in the image and then colouring the triangulated or polyganalized geometry with a defined colour set( max 10 colours ) corresponding to the Brightness ( Greyscale values). In Addition i would prefer more details in certain areas( i.e Eyes, nose and so on ). I am not able to define these things.

I gave it a try using Squid and shape driver plugins in GH, but it is not like what I expected. I am not able to go further. ( find - Image 3 ) and also find the grasshopper definition attached.

any leads or guidance on this would be highly appreciated.

WPAP voronoi try 1.gh (16.0 KB)

First tests, using K-Mean Clustering + Delaunay Alpha Shape
10000 points, Height =4, 200 clusters, alpha = 0.1

10000 points, Height =4, 200 clusters, alpha = 0.15

WPAP LD.gh (139.3 KB)

Some others tests, playing with simplify curves angle and tolerance …

12 Likes

Hey Laurent,

To start with Thanks for helping me with this. Works sweet. I having fun am experimenting with different variables ;).

Meanwhile, yesterday I started to solve the style using a different logic, will post it here in a bit and would love to get your thoughts on it.

thanks,
Best,
Shankar.

Hello
Many logics can be used but it is not a simple problem. So it will be interesting to see other ways of doing.

Hello Laurent,
you are totally right.
Here you go i tried something out. ( find image 1 )

Step 1.I created a pop 2d and passed it through an image sampler.
Step 2. i created polygons with the Points created by the points 2D component.