Why is my loft of 25 curves is creating a polysurface instead of a surface?

I am new to Rhino (on a Mac). Please excuse me if this is a naive question.

I’ve constructed 25 curves and am trying to loft them. The curves deform very little between neighbors. I keep getting a polysurface which is jagged.

Do the curves have to have the same number of knots? Do the loft connect corresponding knots on neighboring curves?

Note: By experimenting, I’ve found that some subsets of the curves loft into a surface, other subsets create polysurfaces.

Are there general tips for getting a smooth surface through many curves?

Thank you.

Hi @ccarter,

Can you post the 3dm file that contains the 25 curves you are trying to loft?

Thanks,

– Dale

I suspect some of your curves are “polycurves”, that is separate curves Joined together, perhaps with a sharp kink where they are joined.

Dale is right, we need the file to be sure but I suspect you have one or more curves joined together.

Even if it’s just one out of the 25, that will create a polysurface, so you will need to check them all…

I’m impressed by this community. Thank you for the rapid response.

I’ve selected all the curves individually and they all give me “a single curve added to selection”. But, again I am new to Rhino so I am not sure if this proves they are not polycurves.

I am attaching my file. All of the curves are on the default layer. There is more stuff on the other layers which can be ignored.

09M-26D_18.3dm (3.6 MB)

Many thanks, Craig

Actually most of your curves have internal tangent joints (G1) even if they are not listed as polycurves - if you select them all and use Explode, you will end up with 187 segments. I think this is because they are degree 2.