What was Your Favorite/Most Useful V5 Feature, And Why?

Sometimes it’s good to see where you’ve been to see where to go.
What was your favorite/most useful version 5 feature, and why?

Although, there were a lot of new features, many of which I occasionally use, my favorites where: Solidpts on, 64-bit, Block-Edit, and the Gumball. I also liked the upgraded button bars because they are more stable.

Thank you, all.

Sub-Object editing! It just makes life so much easier :-)!

2 Likes

64-bit, yes. I never use any of the others you mention. I don’t always remember what wasn’t in RH4 but I would say that, for me, it would be ClippingPlanes. Now I don’t have to constantly chop up my models to bring across visuals to others.

I’m relatively new to modeling in Rhino, but I hated the gumball when first tried to use it. Now it is on most all the time.
I hope the subdivision part of this new v6 will be what keeps people right in Rhino .great work developers and users

64 bit (of course), Sub-object editing, Gumball, Python/RhinoCommon, Display modes…

Gumball, SolidPtOn, Toolbars, Python

64bit
filter
cutting planes

cutting planes
panel display
SolidPtOn
History on sweep

Neon: Excellent for material changes, setting up light, evaluating design.

Advanced display mode:
Realtime shadows: sun study, better emotional connection with design (feels more like real life, important for evaluation)
Technical display: fast presentation of concept, wish for full Penguin replacement.

Python: robust programming
Sub selection: Direct manipulation, great for early sketching of concept design.
Gumball, faster manipulation, good for immersion with improved focus on change.

Added history support: good for simple “feature” driven concepts. Big wish for further improvements like a history tree and full access to all history parameters for the children.