Weird offset result only in some pieces of my definition

I am trying to offset a set of curves extracted as contours of a brep. As you can see in the photo, most of the ribs created by the extrussion work well but some of them are doing strange things.
I grafted contours and doesn’t seem to work. Also, if I change the height of the pavillion, wich is parametric too, the ribs that have problems will change. The next photo shows well the problem. I don’t know why that happens and I’m really new to rhino.

Here i changed the parameters of the top curve (a bit extreme) and it doesn’t happen anymore.

And here with other parameters for height of the top curve:

I will upload the GH definition and the 3dm file. Sorry if the definition is messy but that’s the best I can do for now with my knowledge of grasshopper.

Thank you so much! :slight_smile:

Offset Problem.3dm (7.6 MB)

Modelo creado problem.gh (22.1 KB)

I rewrote the definition beneath your definition. I used more ruled surfaces that lofts, as I feel they give better performance when you simply want to create a surface between two sets of curves.

My process was to generate the contours, then copy these in x and y by the rib width, then ruled surface between these lines to create the top rib surface. Then offset the top surface downwards to create the lower surface, then grab the surface edges of top and bottom and ruled surface between these to create the sides.

IMO the best approach is to generate rib centrelines instead and then sweep the rectangular profile along that curve, however I wanted to recreate your method to help solve the problem.

Modelo creado problem.gh (37.9 KB)

1 Like

And again but sweeping the rail curve instead - much simpler/cleaner:

Modelo creado problem.gh (41.5 KB)

2 Likes

Thank you so much!
The first definition works perfectly…
The second one gives me some problems when I change the height of the points (again). I will try to solve the problem by myself.