Weaverbird picture frame only in percentage?

Hello! I’m new to grasshopper as you will soon realize, but to the point.

I have been trying for a while to create a model of a wooden frame for, lets say a dome. I have been trying to use weaverbird picture frame, and then mesh thicken to give it depth. But these two options only lets you decide thickness in procentage of edge length, which leads to different thickness on different sides.

And also the thickness of the thickness of the frame changes when it grows towards the “center”. It gets thinner, as on might expect.

I have also tried to use lunchbox’s panel frame. But also this works in “scale” and not in mm.

Do you guys know of any plugin that lets me work in model units instead of scale? And where i can “extrude” the frames to create equally thick planks?

I haven’t uploaded any gh file or anything since it’s only a polarzonohedron with the picture frame and the mesh thicken…

Thanks, Philip

Hello Guilio @piac,

Would you mind helping him.

Thanks,
BVR

I haven’t uploaded any gh file or anything since it’s only a polarzonohedron with the picture frame and the mesh thicken

Still upload it.

Mesh thickening just isn’t the way for this kind of thing. Offset each outline of the mesh faces inward with the faces normal plane, then start to construct the frame.

You might better like the option “1” for T: InsetType. If it doesn’t do what you are looking for, you might want to try develop a different geometric option yourself. This option works well for faces that are regular; for irregular faces it might not look balanced.

1 Like

Welcome Philip,

Here’s a definition I did a while back for a design project:

I takes a triangulated base mesh, like the icosahedron above, and thickens it.
The offset in the plane of each triangular mesh face can be altered by distance.