Viewport Performance Improvement on Rhino 6 and 7 WIP

Hi Everyone.

I’m not an expert but I found some interesting findings in relation with Rhinoceros’ viewport performance. Let me kindly list some details first about the hardware I use.

Lenovo P40
Intel Core i7 6600
16GB memory
Nvidia Quadro M500M 2GB dedicated

I have another system which is HP Zbook Studio and it showed similar results, so I just had most tests with me Lenovo P40.

The curiosity started when I only got around 60 fps on TestMaxSpeed on the perspective one with 4 views layout. I think it should be delivering more than that. My good old HP Envy 14 Spectre was delivering more than 200 fps on Rhino 5 with built-in Intel HD graphics only. So I did some tests.

With my Lenovo P40, I played with the Nvidia Control Panel settings. I set all to default on the advanced panel, So, I believe any of you need not to play with it as well. But, the simplest one on the Adjust Image Settings with Preview, gave a boost in viewport fps performance in Rhino 6.

This is the initial default setting for my P40.

with 2560x1440 or 1920x1080 display resolution, it only gave around this fps:

But, when I set it to this settings:

the viewport performance multiplied around 5 times higher:

Yes, that’s 300+ fps.

Antialiasing is still 2x and GPU tessellation is enabled.

With Antialiasing set to 4x, it still gives me:

Yes, it’s still 266 fps. Not 60 fps. And it still gives more than descent image quality from my perspective.

I tested with some more 3d objects about this finding, and the viewport performance is vastly improved.

The situation happened both on my Lenovo P40 and Zbook Studio. Also Rhino 7 WIP.

You may want to try it with your own computer to check whether it’s applicable to your systems. I hope this gives you all “free performance upgrade” with your Rhino as well.