Vbnet vector doc product

hi
How can I find the dotproduct of vectors in VB net. … the methods available within the VB net script component is not have this…

Just multiply the vectors. Or alternatively you can use the Shared method on Vector3d.

Dim v0 As New Vector3d(4, 6, 7)
Dim v1 As New Vector3d(9, 2, 3)
Dim dp As Double = v0 * v1

-or-
Dim dp As Double =Vector3d.Multiply(v0, v1)

Hi David

Thank you. That works of course!

I want to explain what i am doing generally and hope you can give me some broad guidance.

I am an architect artist and many years ago found scripting really something that adds to my artwork.

I started with rhinoscript and studied your rhinoscript manual 2007 religiously and used it to do some artworks

Since then, i have moved on to grasshopper / Kangaroo and I use VB net within the grasshopper when i thought using just the grasshopper components was too cumbersome – i never used much geometry within the vb net as i could never get my head around finding the rhino methods for the geometry ( i thought was much simpler in rhinoscript but probably it is just that i haven’t found any tutorial manual which covers this).

Lately i wanted to retry some portion of the recursive script in the ‘Arc’ section of your rhinoscript manual but within grasshopper and with vb net script.

It dawned on me that i needed to work out creating geometries within vb Net or the recursive script cannot work. One cannot get out of vb net component to use other geometry grasshopper component, get its value and reload it back to the same script component to continue the recursive process!!!

I just discovered that rhino.geometry can bring up a lot of geometries and methods. Before i did not know how to invoke this. If you can give me any guidance or any other resources to refer to, that would be really great!!!.

Also for transforming geometries, something like as below works:

line.transform(transform.rotation(1.57, New point3d(0, 0, 0)))